Jet. Set.

“We have to get off the plane. There’s something wrong with the left phalange.” – Phoebe Buffay, “Friends.”

My trip gets off to a not rocky, but perhaps pebbly, start. A mechanical problem cancels the flight out of Chattanooga, so I catch the next one to Atlanta. A missing bag (not mine) delays the Atlanta flight by an hour.

On the plane from Atlanta to Paris, I sit next to a teacher who is chaperoning four high school students on a Model UN trip to Russia. They are seated in the four center seats next to our two.

Somewhere in the middle of the night (Denis Leary was wrong, NyQuil, with its “giant fucking Q” does not knock me out as I’d hoped it would), I wake up and look over at the young students. They are all asleep, the girls laying across the boys’ laps and I am struck by a strange sense of nostalgia and sadness.

I miss those days of having friends to literally lean on. It’s different from romantic affection. I don’t know if it’s that I used to spend time with people who were warmer or if it’s me whose gotten colder. Maybe it’s an age thing.

That interlude aside, we finally land at Charles DeGaulle and the transfer takes me through customs, out of the airport, on a bus to another terminal, back through security, and running like mad for a boarding plane, only to learn I’d misread the board and my plane isn’t for another hour. Sigh. Oh well, at least I have a moment to catch my breath. I think this… woman (?) might have the right idea.

Oh, and lest anyone wonder, I actually can read a digital clock. It strikes me that my vision is off-kilter but I just attribute that to getting too few hours of less than restful plane sleep.

Yeah, not so lucky. Somewhere along the line, one of the lenses of my glasses has fallen out and I have no inkling where it went. So my strange vision is coming not from tiredness, but from looking through a singular prescription lens.

There is something about my glasses and Europe. Last time I was in this continent, I lost a lens in Ljubljana. Oh well, I suppose it’s a good thing I haven’t planned to rent a car here.

Nothing I can’t handle. Plenty of things worse than a little myopia. Onward and upward.

One more flight remains….

About twistedivy

In March, 2011, I spent a week wandering Italy on my own. This is the story of that time. I hope to see other parts of the world soon.
This entry was posted in Uncategorized. Bookmark the permalink.

Leave a Reply

